≡ Menu

Let’s Review 8


A mosquito’s foot at 800X magnification  

 

AmongUs: Giant Fungus Covering Over 2,200 Acres Is the Largest Living Organism Ever Discovered

The Neocon Mind That’s the Progressive mind. The cause comes ahead of everything. When Barak Obama won in 2008, he could have demanded a human sacrifice at his inauguration, and the Left not only would have supported it, they would have claimed only racists opposed human sacrifice. We are seeing the same thing play out with the neocons, who have made their loony “NeverTrump” cause into something close to a cult. Every event is spun into some weird conspiracy or bizarre outrage. Hating Trump is their reason to exist.

”€œNational conversation,”€ you may have noticed, translates to ”€œlecture with mandatory attendance.” – – -Dustbury.

The Nailing Railing The brothers in their knee-high sweatpants would lope into the buoyant backsides of these Nail Rail sisters, making a big show of judging the asses for quality — some nodding their heads and licking their lips in vigorous approval, other stroking their chins in phony discernment — before channeling Al Frankenstien on Viagra.

The Army Plans On Selling Off Its Remaining Arsenal Of M1911 Pistols With 10,000 already transferred and 8,300 additional pistols “sold or disposed of,” per Guns.com, that means there are at least 80,000 1911s ready and waiting for a nasty civilian to give them a good home.

Riding through the tundra: meet the adrenaline junkies gliding across Siberia

What If Humans Had Eagle Vision? On top of the ability to see farther and perceive more colors, we would also have nearly double the field of view. With our eyes angled 30 degrees away from the midline of our faces like an eagle’s, we would see almost all the way behind our heads with a 340-degree visual field (compared to normal humans’ 180 degree field); this would confer a clear advantage in hunting and self-defense.

The NSA’s Spy Hub in New York, Hidden in Plain Sight    Unlike the many neighboring residential and office buildings, it is impossible to get a glimpse inside 33 Thomas Street. True to the designers’ original plans, there are no windows and the building is not illuminated. At night it becomes a giant shadow, blending into the darkness, its large square vents emitting a distinct, dull hum that is frequently drowned out by the sound of passing traffic and wailing sirens.

The Last of the Iron Lungs Lillard spends half of every day with her body encapsulated in a half-century old machine that forces her to breathe. Only her head sticks out of the end of the antique iron lung. On the other side, a motorized lever pulls the leather bellows, creating negative pressure that induces her lungs to suck in air.

GET WOKE, GO BROKE: The NFL ratings slump is getting worse.

Feed the homeless to the hungry. Problem solved. Malibu church pressured to end homeless dinners, with some saying it lures needy to upscale city

Alert the Authorities!

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Howard Nelson November 24, 2017, 3:32 PM

    Mosquito foot?
    I know a new pasta form when I see it. It’s spiced to give a bite.

  • ghostsniper November 24, 2017, 7:36 PM

    Of course it’s OK.
    If you ever hear someone say it isn’t, grab them by the wrist and, using their weight against them, swing them at least 360 degrees and then right into a solid wall. If you slam em hard enough they’ll stick.

  • Casey Klahn November 24, 2017, 7:57 PM

    I suppose a used military 1911 would be okay for familiarizing yourself with this handgun, before you go out and buy a new one that hasn’t been beat to smithereens by service use.

    I watched that vid once before, but never noticed the cool tracer rounds being used for the sake of the video.

  • ghostsniper November 25, 2017, 4:28 AM

    @Casey, while I would skarf up any gun at a steep discounted price, I never cared for the 1911.
    Didn’t feel right in my hand, kinda like holding a 2×4, not comfortable.
    My Beretta 92FS however felt exactly perfect the very first time I held it.

    If I had one of those 1911’s I spend some quality time at Brownell’s researching and purchasing replacement parts and back-ups.

  • Gordon November 25, 2017, 4:48 AM

    The local Fleet Farm stores had a 1911 on their Black Friday ad. I think the price was $499. I have no idea if that’s a good price or not.

  • BillH November 25, 2017, 8:11 AM

    I had to qualify on that 1911, then carry one when saddled with courier-ing one of those super-dooper tippity-top secret mail sacks the government (thought) it had to get somewhere jiffy quick. I always hoped and prayed I would never have to take it out of the holster, and I didn’t. In later years, they qualified us and had us carry a 38 revolver, which was much less uncomfortable. Never had to use it either.

  • Casey Klahn November 25, 2017, 11:56 AM

    Revolvers are much easier to handle, and more reliable as far as firing and maintenance. The best use for an M1911 is when multiple Bolos are rushing you, high on shit, and unresponsive to .38 cal. bullets. Barring that, I’m plenty good with a six shooter, but of course with a man-sized caliber chambered.

  • ghostsniper November 26, 2017, 3:50 AM

    Something I’ll always regret is not buying a Colt Python .357 with 6″ barrel in brushed nickel when they were affordable. At a gun show I saw a bunch for sale that had never been fired and in new condition priced in the $3000-$5000 range, far to much money to justify. That gun is the epitome of the modern revolver in my opinion and nothing else out there comes close.

  • Snakepit Kansas November 26, 2017, 5:20 AM

    Ghost,
    With my smaller hands the safety on a 92 is hard to comfortably reach with my thumb. I had an Italian made compact single stack for a while. Looked sporty, but that is not why I carry my Roscoe.

    Casey,
    I bought a Colt Gubmint Model Series 80 shortly after I turned 21. Paid $395, including tax. I’ve shot thousands and thousands of rounds through it. Even when locked up, if you twist your wrist the gun will rattle. It is no longer tight and probably wasn’t real tight in 1986 when it was new. It feeds all my hand loads and rarely jams. I wore out the factory spring metal bushing and slide release (not sure the actual part name). Nothing wrong with a well made gun that shows some wear.

    Ghost,
    I slobber on the Python. Too collectible, too expensive…as you noted. I had a nickel Colt Trooper III one time and wish I hadn’t traded it. My wheel guns now are are series of Blackhawks in .357, .45LC, .41MAG and .44MAG. The latter two have flattened Oklahoma wild boar.

  • ghostsniper November 26, 2017, 10:21 AM

    @Snake, the problem you had with the 92 is similar to what I had with my friends Glock. The center of the grip was too fat for my hand it caused problems with my thumb functioning effectively. Maybe narrower grips? I dunno.

    The rattling you described with 1911 is the same thing I have seen with every Winchester 94 I have had in my had. I like em and would instantly add one to my arsenal for the right price but that rattling would require some investigation.

    A few times I considered the Trooper but you know what, that ribbing on the top of the Python’s barrel is what does it for me and the Trooper doesn’t have that. I used to have a Blackhawk .357 and it fir real nice but I never got used to the very vertical nature of the grip as it felt weerd and put unnecessary pressure on my wrist. I ended up trading it to a dood that paid an overdue phone bill for me during a rough patch when I was living in el-lay. A year prior in Fort Myers, FL I traded a collectors set of Koss Quad 2+2 headphones for it. Whole lot of gun trading and buyg and selling over the years, not so much lately. Now, I take my time and buy to keep.