≡ Menu

Let’s Review 82: Don’t Kid Yourself. They Really Do Want to Kill the President… And You… And Your Little Dog Too.

In the nightmare of the dark
All the dogs of Europe bark,
And the living nations wait,
Each sequestered in its hate;

Intellectual disgrace
Stares from every human face,
And the seas of pity lie
Locked and frozen in each eye.
— Auden

“Tommy this, an’ Tommy that …an’ Tommy go away”   So on Friday Tommy Robinson was outside the Crown Court in Leeds. He was not demonstrating, or accosting or chanting, or even speaking. He was just pointing his mobile phone upon the scene from a distance. Within minutes, seven coppers showed up in whatever they use instead of a Black Maria these days, tossed him inside it and drove off. In other words, these were not “investigating officers” called to the scene: They showed up with the intent to take him away. maintained, especially on radio and TV, ever since.

“For the traitor appears not a traitor; he speaks in accents familiar to his victims, and he wears their face and their arguments, he appeals to the baseness that lies deep in the hearts of all men. He rots the soul of a nation, he works secretly and unknown in the night to undermine the pillars of the city, he infects the body politic so that it can no longer resist. A murderer is less to fear.”€  ~ Marcus Tullius Cicero

Every time I read a Reason article and think, “Well, they are making some sense…maybe they have put down the bongs for good,” something like this article gets posted on their site and I realize that they truly are a bunch of idiot stoners without any perspective or wisdom or ability to look beyond their preconceived notions.

One of the puzzles the libertarians have never un-puzzled is how a society can go from a non-libertarian state to a libertarian one, without a violent, miraculous bloodbath. As a matter of simple logic, a return to liberal society now means revolution.

There are two likely courses: Leftism rolls on: Republican voters, depressed by failure to build the wall and drain the swamp, fail to vote in the mid terms. Democrats get a majority and impeach Trump, then imprison him for imaginary or contrived crimes, then replace or openly ignore Pence. Leftists overthrowing the elected president leads to those even further left overthrowing leftists, and those even further left overthrowing them, as in revolutionary France and revolutionary Russia. Then facing collapsing legitimacy and increasing resistance, after a couple of rounds of radical leftists being overthrown by even more radical leftists, they execute Trump and his family for fear of counter-revolution, as with King Louis XVI and Czar Nicholas II.

The Left Hates You. Act Accordingly. They are fanatics, and by not surrendering, by not kneeling, and by not obeying, you have committed an unpardonable sin. You have defied the Left, and you must be broken. They will take your job, slander your name, even beat or kill you – whatever it takes to break you and terrify others by making you an example. Your defiance cannot stand; they cannot allow this whole Trump/GOP majority thing to get out of control. They must crush this rebellion of the normal, and absolutely nothing is off the table.

“Why spy on Trump when everybody expected Hillary to win? I think the answer is that they wanted to gather dirt they could use to destroy him and discredit his supporters after the election was over,” Reynolds wrote.

The film begins by presenting the case that Barack Obama’s real father was Frank Marshall Davis, a Communist Party USA propagandist who likely shaped Obama’s world view during his formative years.

A Brief History of America’s Appetite for Macaroni and Cheese Popularized by Thomas Jefferson, this versatile dish fulfills our nation’s quest for the ‘cheapest protein possible’

“Question for investors: Should you risk your money on a network that will trash its most valuable property over a tweet?” — Instapundit

Route 66: The Mother Road Revisited

Introducing the eau de parfum that makes you smell like horse sweat and faeces

As a matter of observable–if, to many, unwelcome–fact, virtually all of the work in STEM fields (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) in America is done by whites. Blacks contribute nothing and Hispanics, to date anyway, very little. For reasons of politics we must pretend not to notice. When a piano is falling toward one’s head, one may pretend that it is not, but not for long. The arrival of the piano will ensure this.

“Why spy on Trump when everybody expected Hillary to win? I think the answer is that they wanted to gather dirt they could use to destroy him and discredit his supporters after the election was over,” Reynolds wrote.

One of the World’s Oldest Military Ships Is Sailing Down a River in Brazil Parnaiba’ is still going after more than 80 years

“It’s Massive!” –Our Milky Way Galaxy May Be Twice as Big as Previously Thought

Will Starbucks become America’s largest chain of homeless shelters? Chick-Fil-A — owned by a conservative family whose traditional views on marriage have earned the wrath of many left-wing cities and college campuses –€“ has the highest sales per location  of any quick-serve chain in the country, almost four times the amount of Starbucks. Perhaps there’€™s a lesson to be learned there for other American companies considering whether or not to capitulate to the social justice mob.

Should We Stop Looking for Intelligent Life? What if it’s too intelligent?

The tortuously named “Inclusion across the Nation of Communities of Learners of Underrepresented Discoverers in Engineering and Science” (INCLUDES) bankrolls “fundamental research in the science of broadening participation.” There is no such “science,” just an enormous expenditure of resources that ducks the fundamental problems of basic skills and attitudes toward academic achievement. A typical INCLUDES grant from October 2017 directs $300,000 toward increasing Native American math involvement by incorporating “indigenous knowledge systems” into Navajo Nation Math Circles.

“We often read nowadays of the valor or audacity with which some rebel attacks a hoary tyranny or an antiquated superstition. There is not really any courage at all in attacking hoary or antiquated things, any more than in offering to fight one’s grandmother. The really courageous man is he who defies tyrannies young as the morning and superstitions fresh as the first flowers.” — G.K. Chesterton

Where once western civilization flourished, now white people plant ‘guerilla’ gardens where black people have murdered other black people.

Alert the Authorities!

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Casey Klahn May 30, 2018, 3:36 PM

    I can’t read this post due to the tears in my eyes. I am laughing too hard at the Valerie Jarrett meme.

    Snort! Choke!! Guffaww.

    Roseanne Barr for comedian of the year.

  • Anon May 30, 2018, 5:21 PM

    STEM: Most of the people in STEM were nerds in school. While the rest of us were playing ball and pulling pigtails they were reading science books and because it required math to understand they were studying math. By the time they got to college they had 12 years of study and reading and doing in their chosen field. They studied their way through college while the rest of us drank and screwed our way through college. Even with all that perhaps 10%-20% of them excel in STEM. If you were born without that drive/desire or without parents who instilled that drive/desire THEN you can’t catch up never mind excel in STEM fields. It is a combination of genetic intelligence, drive such that you ignore the pleasures of youth and life just to read, study, discuss your chosen passion in STEM. Without that passion/drive you cannot make it. Simple as that.

    Some years back my sister, a clerk working for the state government was going to quit here job and take a one year training in Network Management and make twice as much money. I explained that most likely the school was 90% scam and just wanted her money but more importantly she would be in over her head competing with people who lived, breathed and dreamt about computers and programming languages. She would never learn enough to get a job. And that is it in a nutshell. You can’t simply “train” or teach STEM to people who never wanted it in the first place. Doesn’t matter their race or gender they have to have a strong desire to to be in this field or you will fail, terribly.

  • ghostsniper May 30, 2018, 7:30 PM

    “You can’t simply “train” or teach STEM to people who never wanted it in the first place. Doesn’t matter their race or gender they have to have a strong desire to to be in this field or you will fail, terribly.”
    ===========

    Isn’t that true with everything?
    Attitude always trumps aptitude.
    You gotta want it.

  • John The River May 30, 2018, 8:44 PM

    “Obama’s real father”…

    Stupid movie, ludicrous. Designed to discredit and distract attention from Dinesh D’Souza’s Obama’s America (2012).

  • Casey Klahn May 31, 2018, 5:29 AM

    Kurt Schlicter: “…if we let them win we will spend the rest of our lives on our backs with a giant Birkenstock pressed into our collective face.”

    Although I know it all too well, it helps to keep the truths of his article fully in mind. The Commie Left will do whatever it takes to reinvest you into the collective. Not. Looking. Forward. to. Seattle.

  • Vanderleun May 31, 2018, 6:32 AM

    Drop me a note and I might be able to put you in touch with a few people who can mitigate your suffering.

  • Rob De Witt May 31, 2018, 7:43 AM

    Casey,

    You’re moving to Seattle? Oh me….

    The worst part (maybe you already know this) is not that you’ll be engulfed in angry leftists, swamped in street protests, constantly challenged to argue and fight for the right.

    The worst part is that your most random encounters – the mailman, the gal at the dry cleaners, the gas station attendant – will casually find ways to signal their unquestioned leftie virtue, and pointedly assume your agreement. Everybody knows, right? The worst part is that it becomes unavoidably like living in The Invasion Of The Body Snatchers, where you’re surrounded by what seem to be normal people but you come to realize that they’re empty, and broken in some way you can’t really define. And you’re sort of the unspoken cause of everything from earthquakes to ingrown toenails because you’ve had the poor taste to be born white and male, and not queer. As a friend memorably put it thirty years ago, the trouble with living in a community which prides itself on its tolerance is that, unless you require tolerance, your only role is to provide it.

    Eventually the only proper response will seem to be ignoring everyone on the (apparently justified) assumption that they’re toxic. And then you realize that you’re empty too, and they’ve won. And then you go back to prayer.

    I’m 73 now, and pretty broken in various ways. My relatively-newfound Catholicism is making living where I do possible if not joyful, and I keep in striking distance of San Francisco because I sing classical music, and art lives there. I don’t know what it’s like for visual artists like you, but the last 20 years have made it clear to me that I’m either in the thick of the art world with all its insanity (everybody’s queer but me) or I’m living 50 miles away in an arid wasteland of philistinism, and there’s no halfway.

    If Gerard can give you some steers to living in the midst of Seattle, for God’s sake take him up on it. After I found myself in Sebastopol 6 years ago (because it seemed like a good idea at the time, and options were slim), I was whining about it all to G one day and he let me know that the old lefties/beatniks/Communists he’d known in Berkeley 50 years ago all talked about “moving to the country after the long struggle.” You guessed it: Sebastopol. If only I’d had the foresight to complain before I moved here, but there you go. The day I moved into my current place in the Home For The Prematurely Pitiful, my new neighbors on each side separately asked me “What’s your sign?”, and one of them cheerfully assured me “You’ll love it here; it’s just like Berkeley 30 years ago.”

    Keep in touch, and write if you get work. This community will keep your sanity intact.

  • Rob De Witt May 31, 2018, 8:17 AM

    Oh yeah, I forgot…..

    In re that Steyn piece on Tommy Robinson and his opposition to the State-supported Muslim rape gangs in England, don’t think that it can’t happen here.

    In Roseville, California, seven “Asian refugees,” as the Brit press would have it (yes, I know they’re not Muslims. Still.) were recently arrested for isolating and attacking young white girls in a public swimming pool. Their cultural mores are enriching our culture, and we should be grateful.

    https://www.sfgate.com/crime/article/Police-7-men-accused-of-touching-girls-at-12952488.php

  • Casey Klahn May 31, 2018, 8:49 AM

    Hi, Rob. Certainly we are fellow travelers. I lived in Seattle and the area for over 20 years, having moved there from Pacific coastal Washington. We now live in fly-over Washington. No stop lights. Pretty much no people, believe it or not. If anyone drives by my place, they are on a seasonal road and it is kind of news. We note everything. I see more animals than people daily.

    I am going to Seattle to take a workshop, for 4 days. Thankfully, I stay with my hunting buddy and his family when I visit there. But, it has changed enormously since we moved from there 21 years ago. It was sh-tty then, but it is the 7th level of hell, now.

    Tolerant I am, but in a Christian “this is a child of God” way. Also in a “keep your stupid opinions to yourself and your vulgarities under wraps” kind of way.

    I desperately need some great one-liners for shut up and mind your own business. I am able to bring personality intimidation, but also I am the mildest guy you ever met when you get half a sentence out of me. I’m open. Open kills nowadays.

    You are totally right, as this article has said, that if you don’t signal left, you are a target.

    I’ll let you know how it turns out. Peace out.

  • Casey Klahn May 31, 2018, 8:52 AM

    I remember this one guy, a British army officer, who I ran into at officer’s school in Georgia. He got off the best line I think I’ve ever heard. Said in icy cold tone: “what makes you think I approve of you?” I need that one on a t shirt.

  • Teri Pittman May 31, 2018, 9:01 AM

    Lest you think that they really don’t want you dead: we got in a battle with WA state DNR over a dock on our river front property. We had a deadline to remove the dock and were finishing up by dismantling the pile driver. Code Enforcement showed up with three armed city cops, in body armour, to tell us that we couldn’t work on the pile driver. We were threatened with a write up for code violations. Of course, we called our attorney who asked us to find out exactly what code we were violating. We were never written up and never got an answer.

    My husband and I are in our mid 60s. The whole thing was instigated by DNR, like many of the other issues we had to deal with. We are selling both our properties and leaving the state. Tired of being treated like criminals, because some bureaucrat is unhappy. If I were you, I’d start looking for a way out of Seattle.

  • Casey Klahn May 31, 2018, 11:12 AM

    Terri,

    in Seattle, working on one’s own piledriver as a meaning all its own. Obviously, you did not understand this nuance.

    Sorry. I could not resist.

    Was dismantling the driver a union only job? What was the deal? Too harmful to habitat to be cleaned up?

    WA state…where they told us to clean up the trout streams, and then a few years later told us to dirty them up again. Circular stupidity at its finest.

  • ghostsniper May 31, 2018, 1:37 PM

    @Teri, I’m surprised the Corp of Engineers weren’t involved.
    I have dealt with this sort of thing daily since the mid 80’s and it’s never ending, so I can empathize.
    People in this country have far less property rights then they imagine.

    Last year I did a preliminary design for a company that had purchased a piece of property in the city and wanted to put a commercial enterprise (restaurant) on it. Initially they jubilantly thought they had plenty of land to do the deed.

    Once I took out for the required parking including massive ADA, retention areas, green areas, access to grease trap and dumpsters, etc., etc., there was NOT enough land left to build the building they desired.

    While a 10,000 sf building used for say, a doctors office might require 20+4 parking spaces that same building used for a restaurant might require 100+10 spaces, depends on use. Seating, the part that pays the bills for the whole thing, is based on square footage, which is drastically limited by the requirements of all the gov’t disciplines that come first. So while my client can’t use the space as intended they may use it for another purpose. I haven’t heard back.

    IOW, a host of gov’t entities get first dibs on your property and you get the leftovers.
    And then you, the customer, wonders why prices are so high in the new establishment.

    In school they guided me in how to design structures that were sound and balanced in function and form, but no where did they tell me that I would also have to learn how to be a lawyer, doctor, marriage counselor, boxing referee, accountant, and arbitrator, the breaker of hearts and the dasher of dreams….and then go home and try to be a husband and a dad….and if there’s anything left after all that, a brother, son, and a friend. You can’t be successful until after you’ve completed the required number of failures.

    This rotten assed gov’t has destroyed almost everything everywhere. It will take many years to recover after this enormous shackle is finally lifted.

  • Teri Pittman May 31, 2018, 6:57 PM

    This all started before I even met my husband. I’ve seen his file with DNR, under the Freedom of Information Act. It’s a donation land claim. The owner before us put in a dock back in the 70s. He never changed it to a private dock, although DNR wanted him to do that. He wanted his friends to be able to use the dock. They were all set to renew the lease and some bureaucrat got ticked off. It’s weird. The documents show all this positive stuff from the DNR people that visited then followed by this blank refusal to even talk to us any more. They gave my husband the eviction notice when he was in the hospital following hip replacement surgery. (This is in keeping with their original condolences/canceling your lease letter that they sent him after his wife’s death.) The pile driver is a big crane and winch on a floating platform. You need one to put in and remove pilings. I have stories on this as they threatened to drag the county into our lawsuit. And..the contractor they sent to remove the dock (by then a few planks between two pilings) was also fighting DNR about his own dock. The guy with the lease down river lost his lease too. I am convinced they just want rich people to have access to the river.

    It all went south with a change in the Commissioner of Public Lands. The current one is an eco-nazi, involved in shutting down drilling new wells in the state.

  • ghostsniper May 31, 2018, 7:58 PM

    I am very familiar with large and small scale piling operations. I’ve designed more than 400 structures on barrier islands that supported entirely by wood or concrete pilings, and the expenses associated. Dealing with bodies of water now are very precarious. The DNR, if they had their way, would prevent anyone from disturbing any body of water. Last year one of the most prominent lawuers in the state hired me to design a large 2 story, 4 bay, boathouse supported entirely out over the water on a natural lake. I informed him that this was an effort fraught with pitfalls and he may never be allowed permission to build what he wants. It’s been in the “system” since last October.

    We have a small stream on our property and a few years ago some legal body, forget who at the moment, sent us a document stating that if we alter that stream in any way we will be in violation of the law. There was no name signed on the document. Faceless bureaucrats creating laws out of thin air. If I see any of them inspecting our stream to see if we altered it the buckshot might start flying. Good luck on your dock demolition.

  • Teri Pittman June 1, 2018, 12:41 PM

    We got it removed by their deadline, although we left that small landing to see if we could get a private dock approved. Of course, the gutless *(*% at city hall, wouldn’t do anything. We showed them pictures of all these rich folks with docks that make changes without permits, but they ignore that.

    The county was gifted tidelands by a judge some time back. DNR browbeat them into giving those to the state by threatening to drag them into our lawsuit. (Interesting concept when you think of it, as the lawsuit was to remove our dock from their tidelands). I don’t know what the final outcome will be here, as they would have to get a judgment to collect from us. And the judge presiding (previously from family court) got promoted to the appellate court.

  • Sam L. June 2, 2018, 2:22 PM

    Rob, my sign is Get Out Of My Face, OFF My Lawn, You and the H0rse You Rode In On.
    Feel free to use it as needed.