≡ Menu

Let’s Review 43: Half A Billion Guns Edition

Every big-mouth gun-hating politician, every Leftard columnist and TV talking airhead, every yapping SJW on FaceSpace or MyBook or Twaddle. They’ll be doxxed, then they’ll be found dancing at the end of a wire under a bridge or a lightpost. Their houses will burn down. Their cars will explode. The cities where they think they’re strong will go dark, cold, and hungry. Trucks won’t run, train tracks will go missing, air transport will get shot down, or shot up, bridges will fall and people will rise. Then all the money, oil, gasoline, and clout your side thinks will run things will disappear like fog on a hot day. Raconteur Report: Once And For All

The Left Is Reaping the Whirlwind of the Culture They Made | The left wants to get rid of feminine modesty and masculine protectiveness and social restrictions on sex — but when the abuse and rape and harassment rise to the surface, they start whining about toxic manhood. Perhaps they should have listened to the Catholic apologist G.K. Chesterton, who wrote about the difference between reforming society and deforming it — a passage that was neatly paraphrased by John F. Kennedy: “Don’t ever take a fence down until you know the reason it was put up.”

Total US Firearms: Not 300 Million, but 412-660 Million?  The numbers are all over the place, and many of them seem to recursively refer to one another, not exactly building confidence in the rigor of their development. But they seem to cluster around a Narrative-friendly 300 million. But what if that number is wrong? We believe that the correct number is much higher — somewhere between 412 and 660 million. You may wonder how we came to that number, so buckle up (and cringe, if you’re a math-phobe, although it never gets too theoretical): unlike most of the academics and reporters we linked above, we’re going to use publicly available data, and show our work.

No one is going to end school shootings because schools shootings are not the real problem. So be prepared for them to get worse and to not be limited to schools. When your culture falls apart, the people in it fall apart. Some of them turn into TrigglyPuff. Some turn into Nikolas Cruz. But what did we expect was going to happen? That’s not a rhetorical question, except in the sense that no one really thought to ask it. What Did We Think Was Going To Happen? – Men Of The West

Not only do I disagree with gun control, I find it hard to pay the requisite minimal respect to it. Gun control means we’re going to put together some rules that say you can’t have certain types of guns, right? Murder is against certain rules we have in place already. So we’re talking about people who are ready, willing and able to break rules. And what we’re talking about is more rules. We’re having a debate about whether this would be effective? Why are we even having the debate? We know it won’t be. House of Eratosthenes

Sense of Events: Mass shootings: “Hope is not a method and wishes are not plans” Entry security and simple access to school grounds must become more arduous than now, all the time. Every active doorway into a school must become guarded, and not by teachers or staff. Metal detectors and backpack inspections, all intrusive, yes, must become the routine. Metal detector scanning? Get used to the idea. Arrival times for grades, not just for schools, must become staggered to avoid large clusters of students standing outside the school, presenting mass targets and to avoid large numbers enduring bad weather awaiting entry. End-of-day exits must likewise be staggered.

CPAC converged There is absolutely no point in relying upon the conservatives to accomplish anything except your surrender. Conservatives have COMPLETELY failed in literally every possible way. It was a movement that was always destined to fail, since it was never anything more than a posture and a pose. About the only progressive objective that conservatives haven’t embraced is your disarmament.

The Russians Didn’t File a FISA Warrant… | The Russians didn’t keep Hillary out of Wisconsin; the Russians didn’t make Hillary use personal email; the Russians didn’t hire Fusion-GPS; the Russians didn’t pay Christopher Steele; the Russians didn’t make a dossier or deliver work product to the State Dept; the Russians didn’t do the unmasking of campaign officials.

“Common Sense” Gun Control, the FBI, Concealed Handguns & Other Memes of Our Age Who among you believes that the progressives, who immediately take over any new program or policy, would not “weaponize” mental health to attack political opponents? Do you trust some Silicon Valley soy boy nerds to develop an algorithm, along the lines of those being developed to “prevent extremist speech and thought from the internet,” that would not be or quickly become a politicized weapon to suppress conservatives?

The Media’s Walk-of-Shame Won’t End – Each morning, the media floozies trudge through the quad wearing their “I’m With Her” t-shirts from the night before while they come up with a new cover story for their bad behavior. They lie, distort what actually happened, change the subject, and make excuses for why they got in bed with an ungrateful lover. “Hey, it’s better than sleeping with that other guy!” They insist they’re not being used, but everyone who sees them meander back to the dorm knows they are.

Understanding the California Mind Law enforcement in California hinges on ignoring felonies to focus on misdemeanors and infractions. Or rather, if a Californian is deemed to be law-abiding, a legal resident, and with some means, the regulatory state will audit, inspect, and likely fine his property and behavior in hopes of raising revenue.

Liberals Fail, Volume XXXVII Bathe in their tears. The salty goodness of their sob juice will add a radiant glow to your skin and put a spring in your step.

Alert the Authorities!

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Richard February 19, 2018, 10:56 AM

    Ran across the Klavin piece several days ago and it is truly one of his better articles. Once a progressive, this guy really had the scales fall from his eyes. Concise and strongly written. Then I ran across Malcolm at malcolmpollack.com and I have never read or heard it stated better:

    [T]o those on the Left, shrieking for the government to make the pain stop by exerting more control — you celebrities, politicians, editors, and yes, you goodthinkful liberals that I know personally here in New York, many of whom I have called friends — I’ll say this:

    While you were, over the last half-century, systematically destroying, displacing, denouncing, and dismantling the historic American nation and its civil society — all moral norms, every basis of public commonality, all respect for our history and heritage, public expression of religion, the nuclear family, sexual restraint, and every natural structure and category and hierarchy that held civilization together and gave young people a framework within which to learn dignity and duty and gratitude and belonging and meaning and self-control — while you were doing all that, what did you think was going to happen? And now you want to “fix” the moral and social wreckage you’ve created by disarming us against your future predations upon our rights, our culture, and upon the society we still hope, against hope, to restore and preserve?

    Go to hell. This sickness is your fault, not ours. You will not degrade us any longer. If you want our arms, come and take them.

    The sheeple are more than happy to allowed themselves to be herded on this. G_damn idiots surrendering precious, unalienable liberty for the illusion of safety. It’s like standing at a very high vantage point and watching it unfold. Entropy for sure, as the sheeple do not want to do the hard work required to maintain freedom. Hell, they’re not even capable of doing the critical thinking necessary to arrive at solutions. But, there’s something far more sinister afoot here.

  • Donald Sensing February 19, 2018, 11:49 AM

    Thank you for the link! Here are a couple of other articles (not mine) relevant to the thread of your post:

    The Atlantic (yes!): Students’ Broken Moral Compasses

    When Will We Have the Guts to Link Fatherlessness to School Shootings?

  • ghostsniper February 19, 2018, 12:33 PM

    A shoots B so let’s take the guns away from C-Z.
    Simple is as simple does, a land filled with simpletons.

  • V February 19, 2018, 12:51 PM

    I am a U.S. veteran, and have access to V.A. healthcare. One of the standard questions you are asked during a visit there is something like “have you been depressed lately?”

    (What- depressed about my deteriorating body? My lack of money to live on? F’ing George Soros? North Korea? Fukushima? The coming ice age?)

    The traditional confidentiality of the doctor/patient relationship has been eroding. Declaring to a medical professional any depression could perhaps soon land you on a list for firearms confiscation. Maybe even involuntary medical monitoring and treatment. This scrutiny may even be retroactive, going back years through your health history. And I wonder, will some comments on social media become considered evidence of mental health issues?

    I’ve always answered that depression question at the Doctor’s office with a “no”. Period. No chit-chat, no jokes that can be “misinterpreted”, no embelishment. And I advise everyone else to do the same.

  • ghostsniper February 19, 2018, 2:57 PM

    Though considered minorities, in gov’t facilities “people of color” are in the 80% range.
    3 inch purple fingernails all around and britches down around the ass, groping themselves habitually, surly attitudes.
    See what voting has done?

  • Snakepit Kansas February 19, 2018, 5:06 PM

    Interesting read on the number of guns estimated in the US. 300 million or 600 million plus? Funny that the anti-gunners did a survey asking folks how many guns they had to help derive a number. I would not divulge such information if a stranger asked me. If I did say anything, I might say that I have “just a couple”.

    If a person has one or 100, it matters not that much. A human can only effectively shoot, one gun at a time. Also the concern about people being able to buy bulk ammunition from the internet: I defy the average American to pick up, let alone carry around 5,000 rounds of any center fire ammunition. A mere thousand round case of .45ACP is a load. I work at a gun range and just picking one of those bastards up can make you curse.

  • Howard Nelson February 19, 2018, 6:18 PM

    Is there such a crime as criminal negligence or felonious incompetence under which military (Ft Hood massacre), FBI, and police incompetents can be charged?
    See something, say something, and do nothing leads to murder. The recent Florida school murders occurred due to complicit (warnings neglected) government officials.
    At the corrective rate we’re going in implementing existing procedures it will take 13 more massacres and 17 more slaughters at schools until the situation improves significantly.
    By that time let’s hope, all of Donald Sensings recommendations wil have been implemented.

  • ghostsniper February 19, 2018, 8:36 PM

    @Snake, if you’re a friend I’ll tell you how many guns I have.
    Otherwise, I have none.

    Nobody gets to say what I can possess.

    Why don’t I believe in the constitution?
    Several reasons, but right up front, the 2A.

    Where did the founders get the idea of a right to keep and bear arms?
    They got the idea from the notion that possessing tools to defend yourself is natural and has always existed. Thousands of years ago people used tools to defend themselves. Tools made little people able to defend themselves against bigger people. Fists are tools. The person that uses their fists better will rule over those less skilled. Stones and rocks, sticks, clubs, then pointed sticks and sticks with stones attached to the end. Stones propelled by cordage, cordage and bent sticks, cordage and bent sticks with stones attached. Knives, spears, arrows, etc. Blunderbuss and musket. As technology advanced the tools became more precise. A Remington model 700 in .308 caliber with a skilled shooter can put a bullet through a quarter at a thousand yards every. single. time. The natural right to posses the tools to protect yourself was already long existing when the 2A was written and that is what it refers to, THAT pre-existing natural right.

    The 2A is not a guarantee as many assert, but a recognition of reality.
    “…shall not be infringed…”
    But even that is incorrect because there are many infringements already in place (NICS check anyone?), in direct violation of the 2A. No, the supreme court does not get to disregard the constitution unless the entire document is ignored. See my point?

    Though the US is a country of many laws they are selectively created and enforced.
    You end up with a criminal class throughout society and in the ruling class and if you get caught in violation of any law it is a matter of chance rather than rule. In essence we are not ruled by rulers but instead we rule ourselves as long as we stay out of the way of the criminals. The more your exposure to society, the larger your radar shadow in the machine, the more likely you will be victimized. This is why the only rule that really matters is the “Rule of Remus”. Avoid crowds.

  • Alan Potkin February 19, 2018, 9:15 PM

    Ghostsniper, you’re in dreamland. While you have a very stirring and impressive moniker, maybe you can show me solid and empirical evidence that even the most capable shooters will be able to repeatedly put a .308 round through a quarter (!) at a distance of nearly 3/4th of a mile. I was a competitive marksman while in the service, two or three times post champion, and I’m not just blowing this out of my own ass… Like you seem to be.

  • Casey Klahn February 19, 2018, 11:13 PM

    No, I don’t buy the quarter thing either, but everyone stretches a bit to make their point. Except me. I never do. (sarc)
    Don’s blog post is excellent, as always. So true that teachers are not probably very great at sheepdogging. Sheep herding, okay. But defending by violence is better placed in the hands of trained guys. Schools do have large contingents of military veterans turned teachers.
    I recall getting very pissed about some mass shooting, and the anti-gun rhetoric afterwards. I hadn’t shot my (maybe I have this and maybe I don’t) .357 magnum in awhile, so I went to my gun range, which is behind my house. 6 bowling pins, at different points of the compass, at varied ranges and angles of fire. I shot all six, no problem, with 6 bullets. Yes, I’m proud of marksmanship, which doesn’t come easy. Who knows what I’d do in a shootout. But, I’d love to be that balding, portly traffic cop in Texas who took out the terrorists at the cartoon rally. The one the FBI failed to prevent, and may have even watched unfold. The cop popped the bad guys, at what I feel was over a car lengths’ distance, and he did it under withering rifle fire from the bad guys.
    Don, I understand what you’re saying about the armed citizen. But, things do happen, like the guy in the New Braunfels area who disrupted the church shooter with his AR-15.
    Arm the veterans. Arm and employ cops. Pay them.
    I’ll repeat what I wrote before because it was excellent. When someone makes the mistake of repeating the gun ban stance in response to Florida, my retort (I hope) will be why not ban school shootings, instead? It’d be infinitely easier to pass the legislation, and would have the added bonus of not being unconstitutional.
    Of course we know the big picture answer is a return to Christian faith and values.

  • ghostsniper February 20, 2018, 4:49 AM

    If you’re interested in such things you guys should get up to speed on how accurate shooting is done these days. Believe it or not the best shooting is not done standing up holding the gun like they did in 18th century and off-the-shelf anything won’t get it. Military shooting? Pfffft. Please. You’re insulting yourself and should know better.

  • Casey Klahn February 20, 2018, 7:52 AM

    I agree that guns are incredible these days, with lapped and floated barrels, made to exceptional tolerances and with enough mass to last. I don’t carry around a shooting bench, though. (although I do own one of the finest ones, and you can’t get it at Cabela’s). There is always the nut behind the trigger; this is where things go wrong.
    I’m not impugning you, friend. Everyone has an elastic moment now and then.
    On topic. We need as many articles like this as possible to help scatter the notion that there ever can or will be a gun ban. In my mind, a gun ban is part of a counter-revolution. They must be just flapping their yaps to hear themselves talk, most of the time. But, some of them think it’s plausible, and some of those are politicians! Some are LEO!
    More Gerard and more Don Serber, please.

  • ghostsniper February 20, 2018, 1:29 PM

    @Casey, at some point accurate shooting becomes less reliant of the shooter and more on the equipment. Yes, your eyes play tricks on you and you have to rely on equipment to do what your human limitations will not. Can I see a quarter at 1000 yds? No, of course not. But I can through my 300X field scope. In the bigger picture 1000 yds is miniscule. Consider, the meager .22 bullet has a dangerous range of 1 mile or more. A .308 more than 5 miles. A .50 can go out to 10 miles. Also think, artillery soldiers often can’t see their target but they can hit it most of the time with training largely due to the technology of their equipment. As it is now, as it is with most things, the quality of the end result is only limited to the dollars extracted from your pocket. Alan Potkin is thinking Daniel Boone with a musket and I’m thinking Capt Kirk with a Phaser.

  • ghostsniper February 20, 2018, 1:37 PM

    @Casey, I’d be interested in hearing about your shooter bench. I’ve been using a Caldwell Leadsled but I’m always looking for better stuff. And yes I got it at Cabella’s. lol

  • Casey Klahn February 20, 2018, 4:19 PM

    Ghost, I bought that bench (maybe I did and maybe I didn’t) at a gun show, and it is made by a Montana guy. My Marine sniper trainer/ record holder hunting buddy immediately went out and bought 2 when he saw mine. Here is the thing that makes it better: most benches expect you to sit at a right angle to your declination of fire. This one has you seated at 45 degree angle from the business end of the bench. IOW, the cut out above the seat is 45 degrees from the main axis of the bench. get it? Way better. Of course, the seat is oriented with the cut out.
    Rather than trying to get one, I suggest you make one. Otherwise, I will boot up, go out to the barn through this blizzard, and see if I can still read the guy’s contact info.

  • Casey Klahn February 20, 2018, 4:21 PM

    The seat is 90 degrees from the cut-out, and your chest rests against the bench at the cut-out. I think you get it.

  • ghostsniper February 20, 2018, 5:53 PM

    Got it. Thanks.
    Blizzard? My sympathies.
    I think that stuff might be behind us now.
    In the 70’s today and I threw a porterhouse on the grill for supper. nom nom nom

  • Jaynie February 21, 2018, 5:59 AM

    Fantastic collection of links. Thank you, Vanderleun. Great comments also. I recently joined the shooting sports, firearms completely alien (and frightening) to me, but I am interested. And I want to show honor to the memory of the Founding Fathers who thought to spell out, and thus protect, our right to bear arms.

    And I recognized the link was to Andrew Klavan as he has often referenced reaping the whirlwind of cultural degradation on his show.

    Thank you too Richard for pointing to Malcolm Pollack. Seems like that is on point. Going there to read that now.